St. Helens Townships

As far back as the 12th Century there are references to the four townships of Eccleston, Parr, Sutton and Windle, and the area of Hardshaw in between, all being situated in the ecclesiastical Parish of Prescot.

During the mid 19th century the Borough of St. Helens, its name deriving from the chapel of St. Elyn, grew out of these five areas culminating in it being granted a Municipal Charter in 1868.

The railway network brought in migrant workers from all over the world providing skilled and manual labour needed for the growth of the traditional coal industry and the new glass and chemical industries allowing the town to prosper during the industrial revolution.